The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2008

It’s that time of the year again! The Nobel Prize for Medicine went to Harald zur Hausen (GER), for his discovery of “human papilloma viruses causing cervical cancer” and Françoise Barré-Sinoussi (FRA) and Luc Montagnier (FRA) for their discovery of “human immunodeficiency virus”.

Well we all know the impact of HIV and more recently the virus causing cervical cancer against which there is now a vaccine!

Press Release

Tomorrow sees Physics being announced, followed by Chemistry on Wednesday. Literature, Peace and Economics follow them each with there own day.

Last years winners

Author: Stephen

Cork born and bred, proud European and Irishman. Involved in many organisations and politics. Also writes for and UCC Express.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.