Eurovision 2013 – Congratulations Denmark

Well done Emmelie De Forest representing Denmark who won the 58th Eurovision Song Contest last night. She was a very deserving winner and while the voting was close, many people will be happy to travel to Denmark for the 59th Eurovision Song Contest.

The Voting

As mentioned the voting last night was close. The top 5 were as follows:

  1. Denmark 281 points
  2. Azerbaijan 234 points
  3. Ukraine 214 points
  4. Norway 191 points
  5. Russia 174 points

The closeness of the result really shows the high standard on show last night. Interesting Azerbaijan got more 12 points then Denmark did. Azerbaijan got 12 points from 10 countries (Austria, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro and Russia) and Denmark got 12 points from 8 countries (France, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Macedonia, Serbia, Slovenia and the United Kingdom). Meanwhile Ukraine got 12 points from 5 countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Croatia and Moldova), Norway 3 countries (Denmark, Finland and Sweden) and Russia 2 (Estonia and Latvia).

The reason why Denmark did win despite getting less 12 votes is that it received votes from 38 of the 39 entries with San Marino being the only country to not award it any points. Azerbaijan on the other hand got no points from 9 countries (Finland, Estonia, Armenia, the United Kingdom, Sweden, Denmark, Italy, Norway and FYR Macedonia), so it does show that you do need to win the votes from more countries to win!

Coming last

Unfortunately Ireland came last with 5 points, 1 from United Kingdom and 2 from Cyprus and Sweden. While we did come 8th in Semi-Final 1, we only got 54 points meaning the only countries that had less points then us were Lithuania (53) and Estonia (52) meaning we never really stood a chance of winning. RTÉ and Ryan Dolan can be proud of their entry as it was popular but sadly finishing the show after a 2nd half that was filled with favourites it was always going to be a hard ask for Ireland to win. RTÉ do need to continue to do what they are doing and work with new and established acts to get them interested in representing Ireland next year!

What DR can learn from SVT

Sveriges Television (SVT) proved yet again that they can put on a show and anyone who watches Melodifestivalen is very aware of this. The overall presentation of the show was brilliant, the staging, lighting, interval acts and segments were all brilliant. Also having one presenter made everything a lot better and easier! Petra Mede was amazing and her interval act performance was fantastic. Good luck matching that Danmarks Radio (DR)!

Things that didnt work well was stopping the voting to announce the winner just to change the colour of her dress. It interrupted the flow to make an obvious announcement. With votes still to come in, it just didn’t work. Also if it had been a runaway winner, most of us are more interested in the runner place/where our own country or favourite entry comes as we already can see who will win!

The green room, Eric Saade was not a great presenter. He didnt interview anyone and talked mostly about himself!! Can we get a proper presenter next year DR?

The running order – fix? This one isnt going away. A lot of fans think that giving SVT the power to set the running order was a step too far. It certainly took a lot of the excitement of the draw out it. I hope next year DR will bring back the draw.

Bloc Voting

Bloc voting, neighbourly voting, political voting, call it what you want, this year it was very obvious. Belgium giving 12 points to the Netherlands, Netherlands giving 12 back could you be more obvious? While I do normally defend the voting system this year will make it harder. Western Europe is as bad as Eastern Europe for it! Bringing back the Juries hasnt made a difference, but it will be interesting to see what the difference in the jury voting was and if it made a difference.

Eurovision 2014

There is already chatter about where the 59th Eurovision Song Contest will be held. Early interest has been shown in Parken Stadion in Copenhagen which hosted the contest in 2001 which held 35,000 fans that year is in the running as is the Jyske Bank Boxen in Herning. This opened in 2010 and held the final of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix in 2013.

9 countries have confirmed their participation next year. They are:

  • Belgium
  • Denmark (Host)
  • Finland
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Netherlands
  • Norway

It will be interesting to see if any of the countries who did not take part this year will return.

After this year and the class of finalist that was competing should mean that there should be a good class of entry in 2014 (I hope!)

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author: Stephen

Cork born and bred, proud European and Irishman. Involved in many organisations and politics. Also writes for and UCC Express.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.