36 Countries to take part in Eurovision 2014

At least 36 countries will be taking to the stage in Copenhagen, Denmark for the 59th Eurovision Song Contest this may. Slovenia have been given a few extra days to decide. This is down on the 39 countries who took part last year. The contest Semi-Finals are on May 6th and 8th while the final will take places on May 10th.

Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Serbia have all decided to stay home this year, while Portugal and Poland have decided to return have their absences.

The full list of those taking part:

  • Albania (RTSH),
  • Armenia (AMPTV),
  • Austria (ORF),
  • Azerbaijan (Ictimai TV),
  • Belarus (BTRC),
  • Belgium (VRT),
  • Denmark (DR),
  • Estonia (ERR),
  • Finland (YLE),
  • France (France 3),
  • Georgia (GPB),
  • Germany (NDR),
  • Greece (NERIT),
  • Hungary (MTV),
  • Iceland (RÚV),
  • Ireland (RTÉ),
  • Israel (IBA),
  • Italy (RAI),
  • Latvia (LTV),
  • Lithuania (LRT),
  • FYR Macedonia (MKRTV),
  • Malta (PBS),
  • Moldova (TRM),
  • Montenegro (RTCG),
  • The Netherlands (AvroTros),
  • Norway (NRK),
  • Poland (TVP),
  • Portugal (RTP),
  • Romania (TVR),
  • Russia (RTR),
  • San Marino (SRMTV),
  • Spain (TVE),
  • Sweden (SVT),
  • Switzerland (SRG SSR),
  • United Kingdom (BBC),
  • Ukraine (NTU)

As 6 countries are automatically qualified for the final (Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom) there will be 15 acts in each semi-final, with 10 of these qualifying for the final. With only 5 countries not going through from each semi-final, it certainly gives everyone a better chance of getting into the final.

The voting shall be as in previous years and be a mix of Jury and Public vote, which has certainly been welcomed by most countries and fans.

The draw for semi-final allocation will take place next Monday, but Israel, Sweden and Norway have already been allocated their Semi Finals. Sweden will compete in Semi-Final One and Israel and Norway in Semi-Final Two.

Four Counties have already picked their entry, Albania, Belarus, Macedonia and Ukraine . Another 5 countries have picked their artist but not their song, these are Armenia (Aram Mp3), Austria (Conchita Wurst), Montenegro (Sergej Ćetković), The Netherland (The Common Linnets) and San Marino (Valentina Monetta).

Ireland will pick its entry February 28th in a Late Late Show Eurosong Special and will again follow the mentor system from the last number of years. More on that closer to the date.

All eyes of course are on the National Selections now, but I hope it will be a good year for Eurovision.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author: Stephen

Cork born and bred, proud European and Irishman. Involved in many organisations and politics. Also writes for SpirtualityIreland.org and UCC Express.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.