Eurovision 2016 – The Grand Final!

eurovisionwinnersTonight the Grand Final of the 61st Eurovision Song Contest 2016 gets under way in Stockholm. 26 countries have made it to the final. 10 from each of the two Semi-Finals and 6 who are automatically qualified. The hosts Sweden, and the Big Five France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom.

Semi Final 1 Results
Semi Final 2 Results

The Semi’s produced some interesting results, with Greece and Bosnia Herzegovina missing out on qualification for the first time since the introduction of the Semi-Finals. While the Czech Republic qualified for the final for the first time since they joined the contest in 2007.

The running order was released yesterday morning and the Juries voted last night. Tonight is up to us!

What we know about tonight is that we have a wide-ranging interval act that includes Justin Timberlake! I’m sure SVT will put on a show to remember! I can’t wait!

Mans-Zelmerlow-Petra-Mede-2016-Eurovision-Song-ContestSVT along with Petra Mede and last years winner Måns Zelmerlöw have kept us entertained all week and we expect the same tonight!

But the big question is, who will win the Eurovision Song Contest 2016? Lets have a look.

First we have the no-hopers. These countries while having good songs and performances are missing that magic component to be a Eurovision Winner. This year they are:

  • Azerbaijan
  • Czech Republic (the dreaded 2nd starting position)
  • Germany
  • Georgia
  • Croatia
  • Poland
  • Lithuania
  • Cyprus
  • Spain

The next group are all possible top 10 finishers but will more then likely finish outside the top 10.

  • Hungary
  • Belgium
  • Israel
  • Sweden
  • Latvia
  • Austria
  • United Kingdom

That leaves a possible Top 10?

  • Russia
  • Australia
  • Ukraine
  • France
  • Bulgaria
  • Netherlands
  • Armenia
  • Malta
  • Italy
  • Serbia

But who will win?

Netherlands, Serbia and France (OGAE Poll winner) are dark horses and if they get the backing of the fans across Europe they will win. But the real competition is between Russia, Australia and Ukraine. I’m not going to call a winner, but its going to one of those three!

Who do you think will win?

The 61st Eurovision Song Contest will air at 8pm on RTÉ One with Marty Whelan and on BBC One with Graham Norton. I shall be on the @UCCExpress Twitter account with some observations!


Author: Stephen

Cork born and bred, proud European and Irishman. Involved in many organisations and politics. Also writes for and UCC Express.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.