#GE2020 – Cork East Candidates

As we are quickly approaching a General Election in the Republic and like with recent elections I will be listing the candidates standing for election across Cork City and County. This post will be updated as candidates announce their intentions

Moving now to the first of the 3 county constituencies. Cork East is a four seat constituency. In 2016 the following were elected:

  • Sean Sherlock – Labour
  • David Stanton – Fine Gael
  • Kevin O’Keeffe – Fianna Fail
  • Pat Buckley – Sinn Fein

All four candidates are standing again. This will mean it will be a battle to unseat any of the candidates

Announced Candidates
*Denotes Sitting TD
Updated 22nd Jan

  • Pat Buckely – Sinn Fein*
  • Connor Hannon – Aontu
  • Thomas Kiely – Independent
  • Mary Linehan-Foley –  Independent
  • James O’Connor – Fianna Fail
  • Pa O’Driscoll – Fine Gael
  • Shane O’Grady – Independent
  • Kevin O’Keeffe – Fianna Fail*
  • Sean O’Leary – Independent
  • Liam Quaide – Green Party
  • Sean Sherlock – Labour*
  • Frank Shinnick – Irish Freedom Party
  • David Stanton – Fine Gael *


Author: Stephen

Cork born and bred, proud European and Irishman. Involved in many organisations and politics. Also writes for SpirtualityIreland.org and UCC Express.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.