Team Ireland at the 2020 Summer Olympics

Pins: Tokyo 2020 Olympics and Team Ireland

The 2020 Summer Olympic Games will soon get underway in Tokyo, Japan. The games begin on the 23rd of July and finish on the 8th of August 2021 after their year-long postponement due to the ongoing Covid-19 Pandemic.

While there will be limits on the numbers attending the games as spectators, Ireland is set to send its largest team of athletes to the Summer Olympics ever with 116 athletes officially announced! The largest Team Ireland delegation before this year’s games was the 1996 Games in Atlanta when Ireland sent 78 athletes, while the most recent 2016 Games in Rio saw 77 Irish Athletes compete.

This will be Team Ireland’s twenty-second appearance at the Summer Olympics, having attended in every edition, either in its own right or as part of a Great Britain and Ireland team before 1924, with the exception of the 1936 Summer Olympics in Germany.

Athletes have qualified in 19 of the 33 sports taking place at the Tokyo Olympics. For some of these sports, it will be the first time that Ireland will be competing at the Olympic level. These include the Women’s Hockey Team, the Men’s Rugby 7’s Team (deputed as a Sport at the 2016 Rio Olympics) and Taekwondo.

Ireland’s Silver Medalists from the Rio Olympics Annalise Murphy (Sailing) and Paul and Gary O’Donovan (Rowing) have all been selected, albeit with Gary serving as a Reserve for these games.

The following are the confirmed athletes:

(All athletes are now confirmed)


  • Paul Pollock  – Men’s Marathon
  • Stephen Scullion – Men’s Marathon
  • Kevin Seaward – Men’s Marathon
  • Aoife Cooke – Women’s Marathon
  • Fionnuala McCormack – Women’s Marathon
  • Brendan Boyce – Men’s 50km Race Walk
  • Alex Wright – Men’s 50km Race Walk
  • Thomas Barr – 400m Hurdles
  • Síofra Cléirigh Büttner  – 800m
  • Andrew Coscoran – 1500m
  • Mark English – 800m
  • Michelle Finn – 3,000m Steeplechase
  • Eilish Flanagan – 3,000m Steeplechase
  • Phil Healy  – 200m, 400m & 400m Relay
  • Sarah Healy – 1500m
  • David Kenny – 20K Walk
  • Sarah Lavin – 100m Hurdles
  • Marcus Lawler  – 200m
  • Ciara Mageean – 1500m
  • Nadia Power – 800m
  • Leon Reid – 200m
  • Louise Shanahan – 800m

Mixed 4 x 400m Relay (4 from the following 6):

  • Cillin Greene
  • Chris O’Donell
  • Phil Healy
  • Sophie Becker
  • Robert MCDonnell
  • Cliodhna Manning


  • Nhat Nguyen – Men’s Singles


  • Brendan Irvine – Men’s Flyweight 52kg (Boxing Team Captain)
  • Kurt Walker – Men’s Featherweight 57kg
  • Aidan Walsh – Men’s Welterweight 69kg
  • Emmet Brennan – Men’s Light Heavyweight 81kg
  • Michaela Walsh – Women’s Featherweight 57kg
  • Kellie Harrington – Women’s Lightweight 60kg
  • Aoife O’Rourke – Women’s Middleweight 75kg

Canoe Slalom

  • Liam Jegou – Canoe Slalom C1

Cycling – Track

  • Men’s Madison Team – Felix English, Mark Downey & Reserve – Fintan Ryan
  • Women’s Madison Team  – Shannon McCurley, Emily Kay & Reserve – Lydia Gurley
  • Men’s Omnium – TBC
  • Women’s Omnium – Emily Kay

Cycling – Road

  • Dan Martin
  • Nicolas Roche
  • Eddie Dunbar

Roche will also take part in the Time Trial


  • Oliver (Ollie) Dingley – Men’s 3m Springboard
  • Tanya Watson – Women’s 10m Platform


  • Bertram Allen with Pacino Amiro
  • Darragh Kenny with VDL Cartello
  • Cian O’Connor with Kilkenny
  • Reserve: Shane Sweetnam with Karlin Van’t Vennehof


  • Cathal Daniels with Rioghan Rua
  • Sarah Ennis with Horseware Woodcourt Garrison
  • Sam Watson with Tullabeg Flamenco
  • Reserve: Austin O’Connor with Colorado Blue


  • Heike Holstein with Sambuca


  • Shane Lowry – Men’s Individual Stroke Play
  • Rory McIlroy – Men’s Individual Stroke Play
  • Leona Maguire – Women’s Individual Stroke Play
  • Stephanie Meadow – Women’s Individual Stroke Play


  • Rhys McClenaghan – Men’s Pommel Horse
  • Meg Ryan – Women’s All-Around



  • Benjamin Fletcher – Men’s 100kg
  • Megan Fletcher – Women’s 70kg

Modern Pentathlon

  • Natalya Coyle – Women’s


  • Lightweight Men’s Double Scull (LM2X) – Fintan McCarthy, Paul O’Donovan & Reserve Gary O’Donovan
  • Women’s Single (W1X) – Sanita Puspure
  • Men’s Double Scull (M2X) – Ronan Byrne, Philip Doyle  & Reserve Daire Lynch
  • Women’s Four (W4-) – Emily Hegarty, Fiona Murtagh, Eimear Lambe, Aifric Keogh & Reserve Tara Hanlon
  • Women’s Pair (W2-) – Monika Dukarska & Aileen Crowley
  • Lightweight Women’s Double Scull (LW2X) – Aoife Casey, Margaret Cremen & Reserve Lydia Heaphy

Rugby Sevens


  • Laser Radial Women – Annalise Murphy
  • 49er Men – Robert Dickson, Seán Waddilove


  • Derek Burnett – Men’s Trap


  • Darragh Greene – 100m Breaststroke & 200m Breaststroke
  • Danielle Hill – 100m Backstroke & 50m Freestyle
  • Brendan Hyland – 200m Butterfly & 4x200m Freestyle Relay
  • Finn McGeever – 4x200m Freestyle Relay
  • Jack McMillan – 4x200m Freestyle Relay
  • Mona McSharry – 100m Breaststroke & 200m Breaststroke
  • Shane Ryan – 100m Backstroke, 100m Butterfly & 4x200m Freestyle Relay
  • Ellen Walshe – 200m Individual Medley & 100m Butterfly
  • Daniel Wiffen – 800m Freestyle & 1500m Freestyle


  • Jack Woolley – 58kg


  • Carolyn Hayes – Women’s Individual Triathlon
  • Russell White – Men’s Individual Triathlon
Selection of Olympic Pins

Author: Stephen

Cork born and bred, proud European and Irishman. Involved in many organisations and politics. Also writes for and UCC Express.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.