The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2008

It’s that time of the year again! The Nobel Prize for Medicine went to Harald zur Hausen (GER), for his discovery of “human papilloma viruses causing cervical cancer” and Françoise Barré-Sinoussi (FRA) and Luc Montagnier (FRA) for their discovery of “human immunodeficiency virus”.

Well we all know the impact of HIV and more recently the virus causing cervical cancer against which there is now a vaccine!

Press Release

Tomorrow sees Physics being announced, followed by Chemistry on Wednesday. Literature, Peace and Economics follow them each with there own day.

Last years winners

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2007 Announced

Nobel Prize Website Logo
Nobel Assembly Logo

The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet has today decided to award
The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for 2007 jointly to Mario R. Capecchi, Martin J. Evans and Oliver Smithies for their discoveries of “principles for introducing specific gene modifications in mice by the use of embryonic stem cells”

For more info see the press release here

The Time line for the other announcements are as follows:
Physics – Tuesday, October 9, 11:45 a.m. CET (at the earliest)
Chemistry – Wednesday, October 10, 11:45 a.m. CET (at the earliest)
Peace – Friday, October 12, 11:00 a.m. CET
Economics – Monday, October 15, 1:00 p.m. CET (at the earliest)

Literature is still to be announced